All Blog News

All the blog entries

  • |

    How to stop Siri AI from keeping your conversations forever

    In this step-by-step tutorial, we show you how to stop the new Siri app in iOS 27, iPadOS 27, and macOS 27 Golden Gate from keeping all your chats and to automatically delete old ones.

    If you’re new to it, a dedicated Siri app is now available on iPhone, iPad, and Mac that works like popular AI chat apps such as Grok, ChatGPT, and Claude. You can type or use your voice to ask it questions and get relevant answers. This new Siri is powered by a custom Gemini model, thanks to a partnership between Apple and Google.

    By default, the new Siri app not only keeps a permanent archive of everything you ask it in the app, but it also logs nearly everything you ask normal Siri (outside of the Siri app). In my tests, I found that except for certain basic requests like setting a timer, setting an alarm, calling or texting someone, nearly everything else I asked Siri, including the weather in a city, is added to the Siri app.

    Unfortunately, there’s currently no way to prevent queries you ask outside the Siri app from being logged in the Siri app. However, you can set the app to automatically delete conversations (that happened both inside and outside the Siri app) after 30 days or 1 year. This is similar to how the Messages app lets you auto-delete old texts and attachments to keep things clean.

    So, if you don’t want the Siri app to keep a history of everything you have asked it, then you can easily set it to auto-delete old queries.

    Automatically delete old Siri queries from the app

    Since all your Siri requests sync via iCloud across all your devices, a new or old chat deleted manually or automatically from one device (say your iPhone) will also disappear from your other devices (like iPad, Mac, and Vision Pro). If you don’t want this to happen, skip to the next section below.

    iPhone or iPad

    1. Open the Settings app on iOS 27 or iPadOS 27.
    2. Tap Siri.
    3. Tap Keep Conversation.
    4. Select 30 Days or 1 Year, and confirm. Selecting either option automatically deletes all Siri chats older than that timeframe, and you can’t undo it. It will also delete future chats that go past the 30-day or 1-year timeframe.

    Mac

    1. Open System Settings on macOS 27 Golden Gate.
    2. Select Siri in the left sidebar.
    3. Click Keep Conversations and select 30 Days or 1 Year. This deletes all chats that match the criteria and keeps doing it going forward.

    Automatically delete old Siri queries only from a specific device

    Imagine you want to delete all Siri conversations that are older than 30 days from your iPhone (where you may not ask important queries), but not from your Mac (where you may have long conversations that are important and worth referencing in the future).

    To do this, you’ll have to turn off Siri iCloud sync for that device. This way, what happens in the Siri app on your other devices won’t reflect on that device where you have disabled Siri iCloud sync. This also means new Siri chats from your other devices won’t sync to this one. If you are okay with this trade-off, then follow these steps to turn off iCloud sync.

    iPhone or iPad

    1. Open the Settings app.
    2. Tap your Apple Account name at the top.
    3. Tap iCloud.
    4. Tap See All.
    5. Select Siri.
    6. Turn off Sync this iPhone or Sync this iPad. Then choose to keep the existing conversations on the device or delete them. Deleting from that device won’t delete it from everywhere.

    Note: You can also choose 30 Days or 1 Year from this screen by tapping Keep Conversations.

    Mac

    1. Open System Settings.
    2. Click your Apple Account name in the top left corner.
    3. Select iCloud.
    4. Click See All.
    5. Select Siri.
    6. Turn off Sync this Mac and choose to keep or delete existing chats on this computer.

    Delete all Siri conversations stored on iCloud in one go

    In addition to deleting conversations manually or auto-deleting conversations that are 30 days or 1 year old, there’s another option that nukes all Siri data from your iCloud. This affects all your devices where you’re signed in with your Apple Account. Plus, it also means your HomePod will no longer be able to recognize your voice or respond to your personal requests, like pulling up your calendar events instead of your spouse’s.

    Go with this only if you want to start fresh with no Siri baggage in iCloud. Remember that you won’t be able to recover your deleted chats. And for voice recognition and personal requests on HomePod, you’ll have to configure these settings again in the Home app.

    iPhone or iPad

    1. Go to Settings > Apple Account > iCloud > See All and select Siri.
    2. Tap Manage Storage.
    3. Tap Delete Data From iCloud and confirm.

    Mac

    1. Go to System Settings > Apple Account > iCloud.
    2. Click the Manage button in the Storage section.
    3. Find and select Siri.
    4. Click Delete Data From iCloud and confirm.

    Also, check out:

    Source link: https://www.idownloadblog.com/2026/09/07/auto-delete-siri-chats/

  • |

    How to send photos faster on slow connections from iPhone

    Learn about a little-known Apple Messages app setting that can dramatically speed up photo sharing by sending a lower-size photo preview almost instantly, with the full-resolution version arriving soon after.

    Sending photos from iPhone via Messages

    We’ve all been there while traveling or in areas with poor cellular connection, where sending a photo takes a long time to upload. And if the recipient is also on a slow connection, it can take their iPhone a while to download the image.

    iOS 26 and iOS 27 address this by replacing the previous “Low Quality Image Mode” feature with a new “Send Low Quality Photo Previews” option.

    When you enabled the Low Quality Image Mode toggle, the pictures were, as the feature name suggests, not sent in high quality. These compressed, low-quality images were fine for viewing on small screens like the iPhone, but the recipient often lost sharpness and clarity when zooming in or viewing on larger devices like iPad and Mac.

    The current “Send Low Quality Photo Previews” improves this by quickly sending a low-quality image preview, even on slower internet connections. After that, the full-quality version takes its normal time to be sent and appears automatically on the receiver’s device.

    One important thing to remember is that if you have enabled Low Data Mode for your cellular or Wi-Fi connection, then only the compressed, low-quality preview will be sent; the full version won’t follow it. This helps ensure you don’t exceed your limited data allowance.

    Send photos faster with low-quality photo previews

    1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad running the latest version of iOS or iPadOS.
    2. Tap Apps at the bottom of the screen.
    3. Select Messages from the list of applications.
    4. Scroll to the bottom and turn on ‘Send Low Quality Photo Previews.’

    Send Low Quality Photo Previews on iPhone

    From now on, images you send via iMessage should be sent quickly as a lower-quality preview, with the full high-quality version following.

    Also, check out:

    Source link: https://www.idownloadblog.com/2026/09/03/send-low-quality-photo-previews-ios/